Dance lesson: 28-Jul-08

Today we kept working on technique. In fact, we have been focused so much on technique that I have practically forgotten some of the patterns! I need to work on remembering the patterns I already know, as well as the ones I have just learned. I don’t feel like typing all their names here, but I know about 10 patterns in each of Rumba and Cha-Cha.

I did make a bit of a breakthrough today in that I am doing a much better job of turning (in the Cha-Cha “crossover break” pattern). Deb did, too — we ran through that pattern a few times and: It didn’t suck. 🙂 Yay! There is much left to do, so I think it’s doubtful that we’ll be ready for the Showcase on 6-September. I really prefer to nail the next Medal Ball (6-December) rather than rush toward this Showcase.

This Friday, I hope to have a chance to review all the patterns for Rumba and Cha-Cha. From now on, I want to dance both dances in the warm-up and run through every pattern I know each time we have a lesson. Then I can polish the technique.

Leave a Reply

